The Doge’s palace is situated in San Marco Square and was the official residence of the Doge in Venice as well as the seat of Venetian Republic. The first palace was built in 814 but was burned three times, enduring various reconstruction. The Palace also contained the prisons of the Republic, connected to the famous Bridge of Sighs (because of the prisoner’s sights going to the jail cell).
Externally it is decorated in a gothic style with an open portico, a second floor balcony and a large walls upper facade. Inside we can find frescos walls and grand staircases, paintings, statues in a stratification of architectural and decorative elements.
In the 1923 it opens as a museum where is it possible to admire wonderful masterpieces by Veronese and Tintoretto painters.